Fourth Annual Consejo Shores
Just For Fun Golf Tournament

T-Shirt Logo

The Fifth Annual Just For Fun Golf Tournament was held Sunday, March 7, 2010 at the Consejo ShoresGolf Course. 50 residents of Consejo Shores and the surrounding communities came out to playfor fun and prizes.

The players began arriving at the 1st tee about 2:30. It was a bright, sunny and warm Consejo Shores afternoon. Teams were assigned and foursomes dispatched to the various tees for the shotgun start. There were 15 teams, requiring one group to pay with three teams.

The Rules:

Shotgun Start - At 3:00 PM a horn will sound and play begins from each assigned tee for the Shotgun start.

Best Ball - Each team member drives from the tee. Choose the better ball and pick up the other. Both team mates play from the spot of the better ball. Play from the spot of the better ball on each stroke.

Match Play - Two person teams compete to win each hole. The team with the fewest strokes wins that hole. Winning team receives 2 point for the hole, 1 point is awarded each team in the event of a tie. No point are awarded to a loosing team. The team with the highest point total wins the Match Play.

Stroke Play - Each team records their strokes per hole. The team with the lowest total strokes wins the Stroke Play.

Closest To The Pin on #2 - A prize was awarded for Ladies' and Men's closed to the pin.

This was Eileen Kilgallon's actual winning tee shot on #2 and Darrin Holley's tee shot on #1. Darrin took the Men's Prize. This wasn't his winning stroke, but you get the idea.

Awards and Refreshments

The players and officials gathered at the Consejo Shores Community Center after play for food and refreshments. The pizza, beer, rum and soft drinks were quickly attacked by the hunger and thirsty crowd. A few souls sat outside in the cooling breeze, but most preferred to be indoors, closer to the food and drinks.

Special Prize - Coleen Holley wins the prize for the only player hit by a golf ball. Her Partner Colin was the shooter. The ball barely missed Denise Fillmore in the Water Cart. It passed through the cart before giving poor Colleen a glancing blow across the chest. Ouch!

Coleen Holley


Awards Ceremony - Refueled and refreshed, the golfers were anxious to find out who the winners were. Roger Henry, our Master of Ceremonies, asked for order so the prizes could be awarded. He was promptly ignored. Eventually the unruly crowd settled down and the presentations began. Roger first thanked Bill and Bentley Wildman for creating and maintaining the Golf Course, the sponsors who donated prizes, the caterers, the volunteers who acted as officials and last but not least, Lorenzo Forbes and Dana Kittnor for organizing the event.

The Winners

Longest Drive on #4 - Ladies and Men's

Diane Lovelock

Todd Lovelock

Closest To the Pin on #2 - Ladies and Men's

Eileen Kilgallon

Darrin Holley

Team Lowest Stroke Score

Ed Mclean and Lorenzo Forbes

There was actually a tie for this prize between Team Jeff/Dave and Team Ed/Lorenzo. The prize went to Ed and Lorenzo by agreement.

Team Match Play Winners

Dave Scott and Jeff Fillmore

Special Thanks Go To:

Tournament Organizers:

Lorenzo Forbes

Dana Kittnor

Tournament Volunteers:

Denise Fillmore - Water Cart

Joyce McMaster - 2nd Hole Judge

Diana - 4th Hole Judge

Elaina - Score Keeper

Prize Donation

Rocky Mathews - T-Shirt Logo Design

Tim Deguire/Xibai Golf and Country Club - 2 Dinners

Scotties Restaurant in Corozal - 2 Discounted Dinners

R&D's Restaurant in Corozal - 2 Discounted Dinners

Pizza Delivery

Mat and Rocky Mathews

Photos by: J. McMaster